NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR HEALTH AND CARE EXCELLENCE

Medical technologies advisory committee (MTAC)

Minutes of the 79th meeting on 22nd June 2018

Level1A City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BT

Committee members present:

- · Dr Peter Groves (Chair)
- · Dr Fiona Denison (Vice-chair)
- · Ms Susan Bennett
- · Mr Mike Burrows
- · Professor Daniel Clark
- Mr Steve Fearn
- · Professor Shaheen Hamdy
- · Dr Cynthia Iglesias
- · Professor Mohammad Ilyas
- Dr Paul Knox
- Dr Avril McCarthy
- · Dr Karen McCutcheon
- · Mr Abdullah Pandor
- Dr David Partridge
- · Dr Jai Patel
- · Mr Andrew Thorpe
- Mr John Wilkinson
- Mr Alun Williams
- · Dr Amber Young

Committee member apologies:

- Mr Chris HudsonDr Greg Irving
- Professor Carl RoobottomProfessor Allan Wailoo

Medical technologies evaluation programme staff present:

- Mark Campbell, Interim programme director
- · Bernice Dillon, Technical adviser
- · Chris Pomfrett, Technical adviser
- · Kimberley Carter, Technical analyst
- · Liesl Millar, Technical analyst
- Tosin Oladapo, Technical analyst
- Jae Long, Project manager
- · Ziad Asran, Coordinator
- · Izabela Syrek, Administrator

External assessment centre (EAC) representatives

present:

Ms Michelle Jenks, Project Director, N&Y
Dr Chris Marshall, Research Consultant, N&Y

· Dr Iain Willits, Research Scientist, N&Y

· Mrs Helen Cole, Head of Service - Clinical Scientist, N&Y

Expert advisers present:

- Ms Lisa Robson, Tissue Viability Nurse, The Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust
- · Ms Gillian Maclean, Staff Nurse, NHS Lothian
- Ms Karen Sanderson, Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
- Dr Tim Johnson, Consultant in Pain Management, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
- Mr Girish Vajramani, Consultant Neurosurgeon, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
- Prof Paul Eldridge, Consultant Neurosurgeon, The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Observers present:

- Cheryl Hookway, Health Technology Adoption Manager, NICE
- Sophia Lee, Intern, NICE
- · Esra Meltem Koc, Student, NICE
- · Tara Chernick, Analyst, NICE
- · Ying Ying Wang, Technical Analyst, NICE
- · Gareth Murphy, Business Analyst (Accountant), NICE
- · Jane Lynn, Business Analyst, NICE
- · Prof Bruce Campbell

10.00 - Meeting began

1. Introduction to the meeting

The chairman welcomed all members of the committee and other attendees present to the meeting.

2. News and announcements

The chairman offered news and announcements, and noted committee members who had given apologies for the meeting.

3. Minutes of previous meeting

The committee agreed the minutes from the 20th April 2018 committee meeting.

10:10 – Part 1 open session commenced (company representatives, EAC representatives, experts and members of the public were invited into the meeting)

4. MT366 Mepilex Border Heel and Sacrum dressings for preventing pressure ulcers – Draft guidance recommendations

The chairman welcomed the invited experts, external assessment centre representatives, members of the public and company representatives from Mölnlycke Health Care. The chairman then explained the code of conduct to the members of the public observing the meeting.

The chairman asked all committee members, experts, NICE staff and observers to declare any relevant new interests in relation to the technology being considered. All interests declared for this technology to date are available in a register on the NICE website

The committee was asked if there were any specific equality issues to consider in relation to the technology being considered.

The topic was introduced by Dr Fiona Denison and Dr Avril McCarthy, with Ms Lisa Robson and Ms Gillian Maclean providing expert advice.

12:10 – Part 2 closed session commenced (company representatives, EAC representatives, experts and members of the public were asked to leave the meeting).

The committee then proposed draft recommendations on the technology and these recommendations were reached by consensus.

13:20 - Lunch break

13:45 – Part 1 open session commenced (company representatives, EAC representatives, experts and members of the public were invited into the meeting).

Committee members present:

- · Dr Peter Groves (Chair)
- · Dr Fiona Denison (Vice-chair)
- · Ms Susan Bennett
- · Mr Mike Burrows
- · Professor Daniel Clark
- Professor Shaheen Hamdy
- · Professor Mohammad Ilyas
- · Dr Paul Knox
- Dr Avril McCarthy
- Dr Karen McCutcheon
- · Mr Abdullah Pandor
- · Dr David Partridge
- · Dr Jai Patel
- · Mr Andrew Thorpe
- Mr John Wilkinson
- · Mr Alun Williams

5. MT330 Senza spinal cord stimulation to treat chronic back and leg pain after failed back surgery – Final guidance recommendations

The chairman welcomed the invited experts, external assessment centre representatives, members of the public and company representatives from Nevro. The chairman then explained the code of conduct to the members of the public observing the meeting.

The chairman asked all committee members, experts, NICE staff and observers to declare any relevant new interests in relation to the technology being considered. All interests declared for this technology to date are available in a register on the NICE website

The committee was asked if there were any specific equality issues to consider in relation to the technology being considered.

The topic was introduced by Prof Daniel Clark and Prof Shaheen Hamdy, with Ms Karen Sanderson, Dr Tim Johnson, Mr Girish Vajramani and Prof Paul Eldridge providing expert advice.

15:00 – Part 2 closed session commenced (company representatives, EAC representatives, experts and members of the public were asked to leave the meeting).

The committee then proposed final recommendations on the technology and these recommendations were reached by consensus.

6. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the medical technologies advisory committee will be held on Friday 20th July 2018 and will start promptly at 10:00am. The meeting will be held at

the NICE Manchester offices, Level 1A City Tower, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4BT.

16:30 - Meeting closed